Paratransit Services

Paratransit Services

Paratransit Services are special transportation services that are offered through public transit authorities (like the MBTA) to help serve the needs of the disabled and elderly population. If you have a Spinal Cord Injury, you may not be able to take public transit as easily, or at all without assistance. In that case, you may qualify for special services to help you get from place to place. These services are door-to-door transportation.

How do I know if I qualify?

You will need to fill out an application with your Transit Authority closest to where you live and need service. The Transit Authority follows the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) guidelines to determine your eligibility for Paratransit Services. In general terms, you may qualify if:
(1) You cannot independently use the fixed route public transportation or
(2) You are unable to travel to a boarding/disembarking location of the fixed route public transportation.

How does Paratransit Service work?

This type of service is a door-to-door service, and operates within a mile radius from the current fixed-route system in your area. You would call in advance to book your ride, and they usually give you around a 20-minute pick up/drop off window. If you need to cancel a ride, you need to call at least 1 hour in advance of your scheduled pickup time.

Who pays for the Paratransit Service?

This type of service is a pay-per-ride type of fare – as the rider, you would pay for your ride with cash. Some Transit Authorities have a “Passbook” or “Voucher” system where you can purchase rides in advance. You should contact your local Transit Authority for more information on payment.

Who offers Paratransit Services?

Depending upon where you live in New England, there are different transit authorities that run Paratransit Services.

New England Paratransit Resources:


Rhode Island


New Hampshire



Transit Services Throughout Massachusetts

Greater Boston Area
Massachusetts Bay Transit Authority (MBTA)
Metrowest Regional Transit Authority (MWRTA)

Northern Massachusetts
Lowell Regional Transit Authority (LRTA)
Merrimack Valley Regional Transit Authority (MVRTA)
Cape Ann Transit Authority (CATA)

Southeastern Massachusetts / Cape Cod
Greater Attleboro-Taunton Regional Transit Authority (GATRA)
Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority (CCRTA)
Brockton Area Transit Authority (BATA)
Southeastern Regional Transit Authority (SRTA)
Martha’s Vineyard Transit Authority (VTA)
Nantucket Regional Transit Authority (NRTA)

Central Massachusetts
Worcester Regional Transit Authority (WRTA)
Montachusett Regional Transit Authority (MRTA)

Western Massachusetts
Berkshire Regional Transit Authority (BRTA)
Franklin Regional Transit Authority (FRTA)
Pioneer Valley Transit Authority (PVTA)